The Library holds several issues of Barbizon House: an illustrated record, published annually by art dealers D. Croal Thomson and Lockett Thomson from their gallery in London. The publication was issued from 1919 onwards and priced at 1 guinea. Each volume was published in a limited edition of 500 copies. It was designed to record the pictures, drawings and bronzes that passed through Barbizon House each year.
From 1925 onwards, the artist Sir Frank Brangwyn (one of Croal Thomson’s stable of artists) produced a unique modernist design each year to grace the covers of the publication. These full-colour covers display Brangwyn’s mastery of decorative design in a modernist idiom. As well as an accomplished designer, Brangwyn was also a watercolourist, painter, illustrator and engraver. Largely self-taught, he gained an impressive reputation, culminating in a knighthood in 1941.